Andrea Nagy was born in 1978 in Budapest. She
started learning the clarinet with András Horn at
the Béla Bartók Conservatory in Budapest, later
studying under Béla Kovács at the Franz Liszt
Academy of Music.

She continued her studies at the College of Music
in Freiburg, Germany, studying under Dieter
Klöcker and Jörg Widmann and graduating with
a degree in music in 2003. After that she joined
the soloist programme under Ernesto Molinari at
the Bern University of the Arts. For her perfor-
mance at her final examination in 2006 she was
awarded the Eduard Tschumi Music Prize of Bern
for the best soloist in her year. She then stayed
at the Bern University of the Arts for a further
two years in order to study bass clarinet.

Andrea Nagy has won several prizes, including
in 1993 1st prize at the Hungarian National Music
Competition. In 2002 she was awarded a scholar-
ship to join the prestigious International Summer
Course for New Music Darmstadt, in 2004 she won
the Kranichstein Music Prize of the City of Darm-
stadt, and in 2006 she came 2nd, in 2009 1st at
the Nicati Performers’ Competition for Contempo-
rary Music, organised by the Swiss Tonkünstler-
verein (Musicians’ Association).

She has taken part in master classes given by
David Smeyers and Eduard Brunner, has partici-
pated several times in the International Summer
Course for New Music Darmstadt and has worked
with Stefan Litwin and Yukiko Sugawara.

With various chamber music ensembles Andrea Nagy
has performed at, amongst others, the following
festivals: The Festival of Mecklenburg-Vorpommen,
Festival Music Today in Seoul and the Lucerne
Festival. She has been recorded on CD and also
appeared on radio and TV, performing on the
music programme "Nachtmusik" for the German
TV channel WDR 3 and she was the subject of a
feature for the "Musik Debüt" series on the
channel SWR.

Andrea Nagy performs regularly with ensembles
such as the Klangforum of Vienna, Ensemble Modern,
Ensemble SurPlus and the Esbjerg Ensemble of Den-
mark, and she has worked with renowned conductors
and composers such as Heinz Holliger, Pierre Boulez,
Matthias Spahlinger, Erhard Karkoschka, Cornelius
Schwehr, Lucas Vis, Nicolaus A. Huber, Helmut
Lachenmann, Markus Stenz, Johannes Kalitzke and
Sylvain Cambreling, to name but a few.